Past solo competition winners Joshua Blue and Dashon Burton are featured on the Oratorio Society's new recording of Sanctuary Road, by Paul Moravec and Mark Campbell.  Released on January 10, 2020 on the Naxos label, the album placed in the top 10 on the Classical Billboard chart in its first week of release.  (Click here to Buy the CD.)


2019 winner Steven Eddy makes his Carnegie Hall debut on May 6 with the Oratorio Society of New York in the world premiere of Paul Moravec's A Nation of Others.


Congratulations to past competition winners Jakub Józef Orlinski and Joshua Blue who have been featured on page 8 of the December 2019 issue of Opera News.  

Eric Owens (2nd Prize, 1994) opens the Metropolitan Opera 2019-2020 season as Porgy in Porgy and Bess.  He comes to this role late in his career, after establishing himself as an internationally in-demand Wagner basso.  Also this fall, he takes charge of the vocal studies department and opera program of the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. (Opera News)


Jakub Józef Orlinski (1st Prize, 2016) was featured in a July 15th New Yorker magazine article touting his pop-star appeal as one of the “growing ranks of star countertenors”.  He has 34,000 Instagram followers and he break-dances!  Sometimes as part of his opera roles!  He is performing all over Europe, helping to drive the Baroque music revival. (New Yorker Magazine)  Orlinski's new album, Facce d'Amore, won Amazon's Album of the Week award in mid-November 2019.


The Society is pleased to have the following Competition finalists performing in its 2019-2020 Season:


Heather Petrie, contralto
Brian Giebler, tenor
(Handel Messiah, Dec 19, 2019)

Isaiah Bell, tenor
Steven Eddy, baritone
Joseph Beutel, bass/baritone
(Moravec/Campbell, ​A Nation of Others, May 6, 2020)

Congratulations to the Winners of the
2019 Lyndon Woodside Oratorio-Solo Competition

Steven Eddy, Andrew R. Preis Award for First Place

Heather Petrie, Stanley C. Meyerson Award for Second Place

Nathaniel Sullivan, Janet Plucknett Award for Third Place,

Matthew Hill, Alfred A. Hubay Award

Claire McCahan, Frances MacEachron Award

Veronica Pollicino, Lyndon Woodside Encouragement Award

Joel Balzun, Robert & Winifred Connelly Green Award

Suzanne Karpov, Leopold Damrosch Award


Visit the concert page for photos.

© 2019 by Oratorio Society of New York