top of page


Note from Janet Plucknett, Competition Chair

     No new applications were accepted for 2021.  We will hear our 2020 Semi-Finalists virtually and plan to have the Finals in person in August, 2021.  Details will be posted.

     Applications for the 2022 competition will be on our website in October.  Hopefully we will be able to return to our normal schedule.

Congratulations to the 2020 Solo Competition Semi-Finalists

Mikhail Biryukov

Emily Yocum Black

Maire Therese Carmack

Miriam Chaudoir

Ryne Cherry

Junhan Choi

Scott Hetz Clark

Sara Couden

Mario Diaz-Moresco

Blair Doerge-Albert

Emily  Cedriana Donato

Colin  James Doyle

Kara Dugan

Rebecca Farley

Alexandra Flood

Allison Gish

Christina Kay

Jaeyeon Kim

Seiyoung Kim

Jangho Lee

Jacquelyn Matava

Key’mon W. Murrah

Andrew Thomas Pardini

Veronica Pollicino

Nola Richardson

Alexander Scheuermann

Drew Watson

Anne Wright

Tianchi Zhang

Since 1977 the Oratorio Society of New York has hosted a solo competition to encourage the art of oratorio singing and to give young singers an opportunity to advance their careers. 

For additional information:

First Place, Andrew R. Preis Award: $7,000
Second Place, Stanley C. Meyerson Award: $5,000
Third Place, Janet Plucknett Award: $3,000
Esther Korshin Award: $2,500
Frances MacEachron Award: $1,500
Lyndon Woodside Encouragement Award: $1,000
Robert & Winifred Connelly Green Award: $1,000
Leopold Damrosch Award: $1,000


Judges for the Finals:

Steven Eddy, 2019 winner

Amir Farid, piano

bottom of page